Crying in the exam-can I bill a higher CPT code?

A pediatrician described this situation to me. “I’m in the exam room with a teenage girl, and she’s crying. Lots of times, the mom is in the room too, and she’s crying.  Sometimes, the dad is in the room too, and he’s crying.  Can I bill a level higher if everyone in the room is crying?”

Well, we hope the doctor isn’t crying too, but who could blame him?

Watch this video about using time to select an E/M service and download the “Definitive guide to using and documenting time.”

Crying in the exam-can I bill a higher level of service?

Please leave a comment or question below.

signature

More about www.codingintel.com, my new on-line membership library of videos, articles and resources coming soon.

 

Leave a Reply

